Our school curriculum is currently being redeveloped by our teachers with support from experts in this field.

We provide sufficient opportunities for all of our students to learn effectively when they have time and opportunity to engage with, practise, and transfer new learning. This means that tamariki need to encounter new learning a number of times and in a variety of different ways and contexts. We pride ourselves on our teaching of Numeracy and Literacy (Better Start Literacy Approach), creating solid educational foundations for our tamariki.


The New Zealand Curriculum and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa, guides what your child learns at school. Your child will develop a range of values and key competencies, or capabilities, that they need to succeed in life. These are all woven into the teaching of learning areas or subjects.

We have developed our own Localised Curriculum that complements the New Zealand Curriculum. Huirangi School’s Localised Curriculum has been developed through collaboration between staff, students and the community; taking into account the students’ aspirations, interests, needs, identities, languages and cultures. Learning happens through our RAFT (Respect, Accountability, Family, Thinkers) Values, and also our school pepeha.

Learning Areas

There are 8 learning areas (or subject areas) in The New Zealand Curriculum:

  • english

  • the arts

  • health and physical education

  • learning languages

  • mathematics and statistics

  • science

  • social sciences

  • technology

The values and competencies in the New Zealand Curriculum are woven into these learning areas. They are designed to encourage enjoyment of learning and the ability to think critically, manage oneself, set goals, overcome obstacles and get along with others – the attributes students need to succeed as adults.

Key Competencies

Competencies are abilities and capabilities that people use to live, learn, work and contribute as active members of their communities.

The New Zealand Curriculum identifies 5 key competencies that it has a focus on children developing throughout their time at school:

  • Thinking – is about using thinking processes to make sense of information, experiences and ideas

  • Using language, symbols, and texts – working with, being able to understand, and making sense of the codes (languages and symbols) in which knowledge is expressed

  • Managing self – having self-motivation, a “can-do” attitude, and seeing oneself as a capable learner

  • Relating to others – is about interacting effectively with a range of different people in a range of different situations, including things like being able to listen well, recognise different points of view, and share ideas

  • Participating and contributing – being involved in communities, such as family, whānau, school, and be able to contribute and make connections with other people

Classroom Names:

In 2022, our class names were updated to tie in with our New Entrant Class, which is called He Puāwai (to blossom). Our classes now represent the growth cycle of a plant, and each class has its own whakatauki that explains ‘where they are at’ on their educational journey. 

He Puāwai (New Entrant class) “Ahakoa he iti, he pounamu ~ Although it is small, it is precious.”

Māhuri (Year 1/2) “He māhuri tororangi ~ A sapling reaching for the heavens.”

Kōkihi (Year 2/3) “He tiwai kōkihi whakamua ~ A humble vessel proceeding towards its destiny”

Puāwaitanga (Year 4/5) “Te puāwaitanga, ngā hua o te kura ~ The fruits of our school are fully blossoming”

He Kākano (Year 5/6) “E kore au e ngaro he kākano i ruia mai i Rangiātea. ~ I shall never be lost for I am a seed fully nourished mentally and spiritually”